2016-17 General Bulletin

frame image
frame image

This is an archived copy of the 2016-17 Bulletin. To access the most recent version of the bulletin, please visit http://bulletin.case.edu.

The Case Western Reserve University School of Graduate Studies (SGS) is the unit through which Case Western Reserve University offers graduate programs in the humanities and social sciences, biomedical and natural sciences, engineering, and selected disciplines related to professional fields. These programs lead to the degrees of Master of Arts, Master of Fine Arts (theater and dance), Master of Science, Master of Public Health, Master of Engineering and Management, Master of Engineering, Master of Science in Anesthesia, Doctor of Musical Arts, and Doctor of Philosophy. Several programs offered jointly with the professional schools and local affiliated institutions lead to dual degrees such as MA/JD, MA/PhD, MA/MD, MA/MSN, MS/MBA MS/MD, MS/MPH, MSSA/PhD, PhD/MPH, JD/MPH, MSN/MPH, MBA/MPH, MD/MPH, MPH/MA, and MD/PhD. There are also three combined undergraduate and graduate programs, IGS (Integrated Graduate Studies), BS/MS, and BS/ME, which allow undergraduate students to enter graduate study before they complete their undergraduate programs. A complete list of degree programs offered can be found on the Graduate Studies website . The School of Graduate Studies, overseeing university-wide standards of quality in admission and performance, presently awards graduate degrees in seventy-two departments: fifty-two with PhD programs and twenty others in which the highest degree is the MA, ME, MEM, MFA, MPH, MS, MSA, or DMA.  Enrollment in the School of Graduate Studies for fall 2014, excluding non-degree registrants, totaled 2317, of which 51.5% were men, 48.4% were women, and 29.7% were international. During the academic year 2013-2014, the school awarded 500  master’s degrees and 186 doctorates.

Administration of the School

Charles E. Rozek, PhD
(Wayne State University)
Vice Provost and Dean of Graduate Studies

Lynmarie Hamel, JD, M.Ed.
(Case Western Reserve University)
Senior Associate Dean of Graduate Studies

Faculty Senate Committee on Graduate Studies

General responsibility for overseeing postdoctoral affairs, programs of graduate study and for academic and other general regulations applicable to all graduate students and programs is delegated to the Faculty Senate Committee on Graduate Studies . Each department, school, or interdisciplinary committee is responsible for its particular graduate programs within the framework of the general regulations. The Committee on Graduate Studies consists of the dean of graduate studies, the associate vice president for research, nine faculty members elected by the University Faculty Senate, one appointed postdoc and four graduate students – three elected by the Graduate Student Council and one appointed from the professional schools.

Graduate Student Council

All graduate and professional students at CWRU are represented by a Graduate Student Council (GSC). Representatives are elected from each department that offers graduate programs. The constitution and bylaws of the GSC are published on their site.